Organisation: four research groups

The strategic guidelines and policies  that govern Etla’s operations are determined by its Board, which assembles 4-5 times a year. The Board has 8-11 members, including prominent representatives of industry and commerce as well as notable people with a strong background in research. Carl Haglund is the Chairman of the Board.

Etla’s Managing Director leads its overall operations. Aki Kangasharju has been in this role since March 2019.

Etla is organised into 4 research groups based on research themes as well as joint support functions. It has two subsidiaries: Etlatieto Oy for selected project research and Taloustieto Oy.

The Support Association Board

Carl Haglund, Chairman
Veli-Matti Mattila, Vice-chairman
Timo Ahopelto
Harri Broman
Ilkka Hämälä
Johanna Lamminen
Pekka Lundmark
Marjo Miettinen
Kai Telanne
Björn Wahlroos

Etlatieto Oy

Etlatieto Ltd is Etla’s fully-owned subsidiary conducting externally-financed project research. It’s core competence is business and industrial economics. Etlatieto is particularly interested in understanding emerging economic phenomena and changes in the global economy and how these affect Finland.

The CEO of Etlatieto is Jyrki Ali-Yrkkö. Find more information here

Etla Senior Fellows

Etla has named a number of prestigious external researchers contributing to research projects Etla Senior Fellows.